
SUMMARY OF RULE AMENDMENTS AND 2013 EFFECTIVE DATES 

 

Effective January 2, 2013: 

 These amendments establish a process by which a dental assistant trainee who does not 
become a registered dental assistant within 12 months of the first date of employment as 
a dental assistant may reapply for dental assistant trainee status.  

 These a amendment clarify that an out-of-state dental assistant applying for an Iowa 
dental assistant registration must have at least six months of prior dental assisting 
experience under a licensed dentist within the past two years 

Effective on May 1, 2013: 

 A dental assistant trainee must have a certification of dental assistant trainee status issued 
prior to beginning work as a dental assistant trainee.  
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ARC 0465C 

DENTAL BOARD[650] 

Adopted and Filed 

Pursuant to the authority of Iowa Code section 147.76, the Dental Board hereby adopts 
amendments to Chapter 20, “Dental Assistants,” Iowa Administrative Code. 

Notice of Intended Action was published in the Iowa Administrative Bulletin on June 13, 2012, as 
ARC 0170C. 

These amendments establish a process by which a dental assistant trainee who does not become a 
registered dental assistant within 12 months of the first date of employment as a dental assistant may 
reapply for dental assistant trainee status; clarify that an out-of-state dental assistant applying for an 
Iowa dental assistant registration must have at least six months of prior dental assisting experience 
under a licensed dentist within the past two years; and require that a dental assistant trainee must have 
a certification of dental assistant trainee status issued prior to beginning work as a dental assistant 
trainee. 

A public hearing was held on July 12, 2012, in conjunction with the Board’s quarterly meeting. 
Written comments were received from the Western Iowa Tech Community College Iowa Dental 
Assistant Educators Council. The Council does not support allowing a trainee to “start over” as a 
trainee if the individual does not become a registered dental assistant within 12 months of the 
individual’s first date of employment as a trainee, as required by state law. The 12-month time period 
is a statutory requirement that is not subject to waiver. The Board considered not allowing a trainee to 
reapply to “start over” as a trainee in those cases where a trainee had not met dental assistant 
registration eligibility requirements on or before the trainee’s trainee status expiration date. The 
consequence would be that the individual would no longer be able to apply to become a registered 
dental assistant based on completion of 6 months of on-the-job training under the supervision of a 
licensed dentist. The other way an individual may qualify for registration is by completing an 
accredited dental assisting program at a community college. That option has a financial impact. The 
Board concluded that adopting amendments to allow an individual to start over in trainee status for a 
limited number of times would be more equitable. For example, some trainees are not able to become 
registered prior to their trainee status expiration date due to illness or medical absences or other 
unavoidable events. The Board wanted to provide some relief in those circumstances and allow an 
individual to return to dental assistant trainee status with a new 12-month trainee status expiration 
date. 

Some dentists expressed concern over striking the seven-day grace period in paragraph 20.6(1)“a” 
during which they must notify the Dental Board of employment of a dental assistant. The concern is 
that the dentists might need to have a dental assistant start on short notice due to absences, illness, or 
resignations of current staff and they need a trainee status application approved quickly. The Board 
noted that dentists and dental hygienists must have been issued an Iowa license prior to employment 
in their professions. The Board concluded that dental assistants should be treated similarly. A new 
online healthcare licensing database is anticipated to be implemented during early 2013 and provides 
for the filing of online applications. Provided the trainee meets eligibility requirements, an online 
application would be approved quickly. 

There are two changes that were made to the amendments since publication of the Notice. One 
change addresses the concerns raised by dentists about the need for prompt action on trainee 
applications. The adopted amendment to paragraph 20.6(1)“a” includes a delayed implementation 
date. The rescission of the seven-day requirement will not become effective until May 1, 2013. It is 
anticipated that this date would correspond to the availability of the online application system. The 
second change is a technical revision to subparagraph 20.6(1)“b”(2). The adopted subparagraph 
includes an amendment that adds the phrase “or equivalent” to clarify that an individual must be a 
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high school graduate or equivalent; this change makes subparagraph 20.6(1)“b”(2) consistent with 
subparagraph 20.6(2)“a”(4), which also allows for high school equivalency. 

These amendments were adopted by the Board on October 25, 2012. 
After analysis and review of this rule making, no impact on jobs has been found. 
These amendments are intended to implement Iowa Code sections 153.33 and 153.39. 
These amendments shall become effective January 2, 2013. 
The following amendments are adopted. 

 ITEM 1. Adopt the following new definition of “Trainee status expiration date” in rule 
650—20.2(153): 

“Trainee status expiration date” means the date established by the board office which is 12 
months from a person’s first date of employment as a dental assistant. The trainee status expiration 
date is the date by which a trainee must successfully complete requirements and become registered as 
a dental assistant, pursuant to Iowa Code section 153.39. 

 ITEM 2. Amend rule 650—20.4(153) as follows: 

650—20.4(153) Categories of dental assistants: dental assistant trainee, registered dental 
assistant. There are two categories of dental assistants. Both the supervising dentist and dental 
assistant are responsible for maintaining documentation of training. Such documentation must be 
maintained in the office of practice and shall be provided to the board upon request. 
 20.4(1) Dental assistant trainee. Dental assistant trainees are all individuals who are engaging in 
on-the-job training to meet the requirements for registration and who are learning the necessary skills 
under the personal supervision of a licensed dentist. Trainees may also engage in on-the-job training 
in dental radiography pursuant to 650—22.3(136C,153). 
 a. General requirements. The dental assistant trainee shall meet the following requirements: 
 a.  (1) Within 12 months of employment Prior to the trainee status expiration date, the 
dental assistant trainee shall successfully complete a course of study and examination in the areas of 
infection control, hazardous materials, and jurisprudence. The course of study shall be prior approved 
by the board and sponsored by a board-approved postsecondary school. 
 b.  (2) Prior to satisfactorily completing 12 months of work as a dental assistant the trainee 
status expiration date, the trainee must apply to the board office to be reclassified as a registered 
dental assistant. 
 c.  (3) Dental assistant trainee status is valid for practice for a maximum of 12 months. If 
trainee status has expired, the trainee must meet the requirements for registration and receive a 
certificate of registration in order to practice as a dental assistant. If a trainee fails to become 
registered by the trainee status expiration date, the trainee must stop work as a dental assistant. 
 b.  New trainee application required if trainee not registered prior to trainee status expiration 
date. Pursuant to Iowa Code section 153.39, a person employed as a dental assistant has a 12-month 
period following the person’s first date of employment to become registered. If not registered by the 
trainee status expiration date, the trainee must stop work as a dental assistant and reapply for trainee 
status. 
 (1) Reapplying for trainee status. A trainee may “start over” as a dental assistant trainee provided 
the trainee submits an application in compliance with subrule 20.6(1). 
 (2) Examination scores valid for three years. A “repeat” trainee is not required to retake an 
examination (jurisprudence, infection control/hazardous materials, radiography) if the trainee has 
successfully passed the examination within three years of the date of application. If a trainee has failed 
two or more examinations, the trainee must satisfy the remedial education requirements in subrule 
20.10(1). The trainee status application will not be approved until the trainee successfully completes 
any required remedial education. 
 (3) New trainee status expiration date issued. If the repeat trainee application is approved, the 
board office will establish a new trainee status expiration date by which registration must be 
completed. 
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 (4) Maximum of two “start over” periods allowed. In addition to the initial 12-month trainee 
status period, a dental assistant is permitted up to two start over periods as a trainee. If a trainee seeks 
an additional start over period beyond two, the trainee shall submit a petition for rule waiver under 
650—Chapter 7. 
 d.  c. Trainees enrolled in cooperative education or work study programs. 
Notwithstanding paragraphs “b” and “c,” the expiration date for dental assistant trainee status for The 
requirements stated in this subrule apply to all dental assistant trainees, including a person enrolled in 
a cooperative education or work-study program through an Iowa high school shall be extended until 
the trainee is 17 years of age and a high school graduate or equivalent. However, In addition, a trainee 
under 18 years of age shall not participate in dental radiography. 
 20.4(2) Registered dental assistant. A registered dental assistant may perform under general 
supervision dental radiography, intraoral suctioning, and all extraoral duties that are assigned by the 
dentist and are consistent with these rules. During intraoral procedures, the registered dental assistant 
may, under direct supervision, assist the dentist in performing duties assigned by the dentist that are 
consistent with these rules. The registered dental assistant may take radiographs if qualified pursuant 
to 650—Chapter 22. 
 20.4(3) Expanded function dental assistant. Rescinded IAB 9/17/03, effective 10/22/03. 

 ITEM 3. Amend subrule 20.6(1) as follows: 
 20.6(1) Dental assistant trainee. 
 a.  A On or after May 1, 2013, a dentist supervising a person performing dental assistant duties 
must notify the board in writing of such employment within seven days of the time the ensure that the 
person has been issued a trainee status certificate from the board office prior to the person’s first date 
of employment as a dental assistant begins work. A dentist who has been granted a temporary permit 
to provide volunteer services for a qualifying event of limited duration pursuant to 650—subrule 
13.3(3), or an Iowa-licensed dentist who is volunteering at such qualifying event, is exempt from this 
requirement for a dental assistant who is working under the dentist’s supervision at the qualifying 
event. 
 b.  Applications for registration as a dental assistant trainee must be filed on official board forms 
and include the following: 
 (1) The fee as specified in 650—Chapter 15. 
 (2) Evidence of high school graduation or equivalent. 
 (3) Evidence the applicant is 17 years of age or older. 
 (4) Any additional information required by the board relating to the character and experience of 
the applicant as may be necessary to evaluate the applicant’s qualifications. 
 (5) If the applicant does not meet the requirements of (2) and (3) above, evidence that the 
applicant is enrolled in a cooperative education or work-study program through an Iowa high school. 
 c.  Within 12 months of employment Prior to the trainee status expiration date, the dental 
assistant trainee is required to successfully complete a board-approved course of study and 
examination in the areas of infection control, hazardous materials, and jurisprudence. The course of 
study may be taken at a board-approved postsecondary school or on the job using curriculum 
approved by the board for such purpose. Evidence of meeting this requirement prior to the trainee 
status expiration date shall be submitted within 12 months by the employer dentist. 
 d.  Upon expiration of the trainee status Prior to the trainee status expiration date, the dental 
assistant trainee’s supervising dentist must ensure that the trainee has received a certificate of 
registration before performing any further dental assisting duties. 

 ITEM 4. Amend paragraph 20.6(2)“a” as follows: 
 a.  To meet this qualification, a person must: 
 (1) Work in a dental office for six months as a dental assistant trainee; or 
 (2) Have If licensed out of state, have had at least six months of prior dental assisting experience 
under a licensed dentist within the past two years; or 
 (3) Be a graduate of an accredited dental assisting program approved by the board; and 
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 (4) Be a high school graduate or equivalent; and 
 (5) Be 17 years of age or older. 

[Filed 11/6/12, effective 1/2/13] 
[Published 11/28/12] 

EDITOR’S NOTE: For replacement pages for IAC, see IAC Supplement 11/28/12. 
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